Home » News » Monitoring ERA Action 5 on inclusive gender equality implementation

Monitoring ERA Action 5 on inclusive gender equality implementation

13 October 2023

Back to news

A total of 18 Member States have committed to ERA Action 5, focusing on gender equality and inclusiveness: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. While the description of what is expected from those MS is more detailed than in the previous ERA period, there is no requirement to formulate a national action plan to implement those actions. As a consequence, little is known about the MS priorities, objectives and planned or implemented measures.

This information is crucial not only for the development of a shared understanding of gender equality concepts and for defining collective goals but also for mutual learning based on the exchange of good practices.

For this reason, the first GENDERACTIONplus report on monitoring the implementation of ERA GE policies. It first presents the development of gender equality objectives in the ERA, including a description of the governance structure. Second, it reviews the status quo regarding gender equality in the ERA based on available statistics and identifies missing data – especially regarding the implementation of policies. Third, it introduces the GENDERACTIONplus approach to monitoring and a first set of indicators. These indicators focus on the following dimensions:

  • Commitment to gender equality and inclusiveness
  • Formulation of gender equality objectives
  • Gender equality measures planned and implemented
  • Availability of monitoring of policy implementation

Read the full report here.